New Year’s Resolutions & A New Tomorrow

New Year’s Resolutions & A New Tomorrow

Hey guys! Sorry for the lack of blogging, this semester was tough. Will be up and running again soon though, no worries. Back to book reviewing as soon as possible.

Thought I’d start off my second attempt at making this blog successful with the customary New Years’ Resolutions. And Happy New Year to anyone and everyone reading this! May 2015 be a splendid year.

MY NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS

First (and foremost), READ MORE. Too much studying, not enough fun-for-me reading. I’ve already updated my Goodreads Reading Challenge, so starting off right! (Here’s my Goodreads To-Read list, for any who are interested.)

Second, TRAVEL. I’m not rich (rather very much in student-debt), but I had an adventurous day at a local “mountain” with my significant other recently, and even just small outings like that would be welcome. I’ve already planned a kayaking trip (which I will hopefully share pictures from).

Third, EXERCISE. Not for the typical change in body image or weight loss, but more to promote the above resolution. It’s difficult to hike and explore if you’re huffing and puffing after the climb to your second floor apartment.

Fourth, SOCIALIZE. I have introverted habits that keep me inside most days, but I plan on having a bit more of an extroverted nature over the coming year. Not that being an introvert is bad, it’s merely difficult some days to be cooped up in a stifling room alone. Time to make more friends and get out of the house more often!

Fifth, BE WHO I WANT TO BE. There are too many times in life where you’re forced (or coerced) to change yourself for another person or even to believe you’re not who you should be. But I think it’s time to start being who I want to be. Cue: Resolutions one through four.

And Sixth, ORGANIZE. I was recently recommended to the KickStarter project: Passion Planner. For any who need help with their organization, or need a new planner for the upcoming year, this is the planner for you. I’ve been using the free PDF print-out, but have ordered the 2015 planner, which I am looking forward to using.

Before I dismiss myself again for what will be (I am determined) a shorter amount of time, I’ll leave you with a quote:

“I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes.
Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re Doing Something.
So that’s my wish for you, and all of us, and my wish for myself. Make New Mistakes. Make glorious, amazing mistakes. Make mistakes nobody’s ever made before. Don’t freeze, don’t stop, don’t worry that it isn’t good enough, or it isn’t perfect, whatever it is: art, or love, or work or family or life.
Whatever it is you’re scared of doing, Do it.
Make your mistakes, next year and forever.”
– Neal Gaiman

May your life have many creased pages!

‘Manda

Leave a Reply

